The Castles of Connacht


This book is a comprehensive guide to castles, fortified houses and bawns in the five counties of Galway, Leitrim, mayo, Roscommon and Sligo in western Ireland, which together make up the province of Connacht.

An introduction describing the development of castellated buildings of stone in Connacht, dating from the early 13th century to the late 17th century, is followed by five gazetteers describing the history and architectural features of over 200 such buildings.

The gazetteers are illustrated with many plans, drawings and photographs.

Summary lists at the end of the gazetteers give information on another 150 buildings, and there are also lists of sites of former castles.

Published in 2004

Contains 104 pages with 360 illustrations

ISBN 1-871731-64-X

Additional information

Weight 0.26 kg