The Castles of Ulster


This book is a comprehensive guid to castles, fortified houses, bawns and town defences in the nine counties of Ireland which make up the province of Ulster.

An introduction describing the development of castellated buildings of stone in Ulster, dating from the late 12th century to the mid 17th century, is followed by nine gazetteers recording the history and architectural features of over one hundred such buildings in the counties of Antrim, Armagh, Cavan, Donegal, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry, Monaghan and Tyrone.

The gazetteers are illustrated with many plans, drawings, and photographs.

Lists at the ends of the gazetteers give summary information on another 70 buildings, there are also lists of the sites of former castles and bawns.

Published in 2004

Contains 72 pages with 200 illustrations

ISBN 1-871731-65-8

Additional information

Weight 0.26 kg