104 pages, 360 illustrations (plans, map, photographs)

This book is a comprehensive guide to castles, fortified houses and bawns in the five counties of Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon and Sligo which together make up the province of Connacht in the west of Ireland. An introduction describing the development of castellated buildings of stone in Connacht, dating from the early 13th century to the late 17th century, is followed by five gazetteers describing the history and architectural features of over 200 such buildings. The gazetteers are illustrated with many plans, drawings and photographs. Summary lists at the ends of the gazetteers give information on another 150 buildings, and there are also lists of sites of former castles.

Also available as part of a five-volume set of Irish Castles books for £35 (including UK postage). The other titles are Leinster, Ulster, North Munster and South Munster.

< Back to Bookshop