200 pages, 640 illustrations (plans, map, photographs)

This book is a comprehensive guide to castles, fortified houses and bawns in the twelve counties of the eastern and south-eastern parts of Ireland which make up the province of Leinster. An introduction describing the development of castellated buildings of stone in Leinster, dating from the late 12th century to the mid 17th century, is followed by twelve gazetteers describing the history and architectural features of over 350 such buildings in the counties of Carlow, Dublin, Kildare, Kilkenny, Laois, Longford, Louth, Meath, Offaly, Westmeath, Wexford and Wicklow. The gazetteers are illustrated with many plans, drawings and photographs, and there are maps showing the location of surviving buildings. Tower house plans are at a consistent scale of 1:400. Lists at the ends of the gazetteers provide summary information on 300 other buildings, and also sites of lost castles.

Also available as part of a five-volume set of Irish Castles books for £35 (including UK postage). The other titles are Connacht, Ulster, North Munster and South Munster. All are still available individually at their original 2003-4 prices.

< Back to Bookshop